Here's an NCAA question I got wrong and don't really understand why. I chose "C", but the answer given by the NCAA was "A". Does the NCAA think this is a batting out-of-order infraction. I took it as an illegal substitution. Even the NCAA justification seems to indicate that.
Question:
Larry is the DH for the pitcher. In the fourth inning, the coach decides to have the pitcher bat for himself. In the sixth inning, the coach decides to have Larry bat for the pitcher again. Before a pitch is thrown to Larry, the defense appeals.
a. Since the defense appealed before a pitch was thrown, the offensive team may replace Larry without penalty.
b. Once Larry is removed from the DH's role, he may subsequently return to the game but only as a pitcher.
c. Larry is called out and disqualified from the game.
d. Larry is ejected but is not called out. His substitute will assume Larry's position at the plate.
Explanation: 5-5j (1) & (3)
j. Should a withdrawn (disqualified) player re-enter the game:
(1) If on offense, whether as a batter or a runner, upon discovery by the
opposing team or an umpire, the player immediately shall be declared out
and disqualified from the game. If the player should score a run before the
discovery, an appeal must be made to the umpire-in-chief before the first
pitch to the next batter of either team. This appeal would invalidate the
action of the ineligible player;
(3) Any player for whom a withdrawn player substitutes may not re-enter the
game
|