View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 12:58pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
A case play does not exist for every single situation.

Quote:
Originally posted by Official Hommie
Mr. Elias

Hommie is just a name for the internet. I thought it was neat so I used it.

Back to my point. I just want an official ruling of some kind. That is all I am asking for. Other than that we will be debating this all day long in official's meetings and other discussions. Is this too much to ask for? Or at the very least just say in your opinion it should be ruled this way because. But I am sure someone here or somewhere else will disagree with it unless we have some official ruling to back up the interpretation we have here. I just think the National Federation has dropped the ball on this one.
Hommie, NF 9-8 is very clear. "A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds."

Does team control exist? Yes.

Is the ball in the BC of the team with control? Yes.

We have team control of the ball while the ball is in the BC, so, yes, there is a 10 second count. PLAYER CONTROL IS NOT REQUIRED.

Let's say that A1 is in the BC and passes to A2 in the BC. But the ball is deflected by B1 and is loose. Does the count continue? Of course it does. Why? Because we have team control of the ball while the ball is in the BC.

Also, you may look at this year's NFHS Part II exam. I don't have my copy at the moment but a question appears around #85. Perhaps someone who has the exam handy can post the actual statement but it goes something like this.

It is a violation if A1 passes the ball to A2 while in the FC, the pass is deflected by B1, goes into the BC and is left untouched in the BC for 10 seconds.

The answer to the question is TRUE. That's as official as it gets!
Reply With Quote