Thread: Irate Coach!
View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2013, 12:30am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Now that you have the whole letter... Yes Girls Varsity

How should this have been handled? Do we have AP since no team control on a Free Throw? Or since ABC got the rebound..should they have been awarded a throw in?
I will defer to more experienced members of the forum, however I believe the rule hinges on when the whistle was blown. During the try = no team control = alternating-possession throw-in. This assumes the free-throw was missed. After the rebound has been secured = ABC team control = throw in for ABC.

Whatever the rule says for the first situation however, there is no way I would have deferred to the AP arrow. Team XYZ is essentially giving up their right to a rebound (yes I know the shooter could get the rebound) by pulling all of their players into their back court. I would not allow an officials error to give possession to a team that had no business getting possession after completion of the free-throws.
Reply With Quote