Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Tim C  
Here is the battle that is currently (well kinda 'currently') raging: 
 
Jim Evans agrees with you.  Jim says that it is silly to think that it could not be caught for a foul tip strike out.  His logic is based on the simple fact that the same pitch can be hit for a home run and how could ANYONE think it is not a caught foul tip. 
 
ON THE TOHER HAND Rick Roder has posted that it CANNOT be caught as the ball is "not in flight".  I love it when two rules experts disagree. 
 
BTW, congrats on your games -- I am fortunate to have a big school league game this week that the loser is out of the playoff picture.  Alas, hope you do well . . .  
 
Tee 
			
		 | 
	
	
 
Tee and Tony,
That is a good point raised!  Do either of you have an idea on the correct ruling on that situation?
I gotta say, after 3 years, I have never seen it happen!  But now that I say that, it will happen tomorrow!
I would think because the ball came directly off the bat, it would be a foul tip caught third strike and an out!
What are your opinions?