View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2003, 11:38pm
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,545
Lightbulb Women does not have this rule, but the Men do.

Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
(NCAA rules)

A1 passes to A2, but ball is deflected into A's backcourt by B1.

A3 runs into the backcourt, and touches the ball but does not secure control. A few seconds later, he secures control

So when does the 10-count start?

1) As soon as the ball goes into the backcourt
2) When A3 touches the ball
3) When A3 gains control
Number #3. Rule 9-9-1 say: "(Men's) A player (and his team) shall not be in continuous control of the ball that is in the backcourt for 10 consecutive seconds.

So just touching the ball cannot be considered control.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote