Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey
Odog,
All I'm asking is why can't I deem it a shot (in my judgement) if it hits the backboard without demanding that you do as well? In short, err on the side of a shot?
|
Because of the rule defining what a shot is. A shot isn't defined as a ball that hits the backboard. It is defined as an attempt to throw the ball into the basket. Using the backboard as the factor to determine if it is a shot or not, as suggested by many, is just not supported by any rule or case play.