View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2003, 08:59am
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Thumbs up Good points

Chuck, you are correct that I said she only broke the plane, which was indeed the case. And I had not noted the distinction pointed out by Nevada in the rules, so that was an excellent point to make as well even if it did not directly bear on my situation. I had always read the rule in 10-3-7 (d) to apply to the boundary plane violation, but that is not the case.

Rule 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
ART. 7 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
d. Repeated violations of the throw-in, as in 9-2-9, 10.

Upon further review, 10-3-7 only applies to the offensive team violations on throw-ins, though it is not clear why the offense committing a violation that costs them the ball can be a technical if they repeatedly make the error. This rule is under delay, but you may as well penalize a person for repeatedly travelling as a delay.

Why is the turnover not enough for these violations? And how many violations constitute "repeated" in this rule?

Reply With Quote