View Single Post
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2013, 11:38am
egj13 egj13 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It could be both. But if the pitcher steps toward third (or second) and in the process removes the pivot foot from the rubber (this happens 99.9% of the time), he has become an infielder, just as if he stepped backwards off the rubber.
Bob I don't know you but I have respect for you from following on the boards...but according to the MLB rule book you are incorrect.

Why would MLB put a comment with a particular rule interpretation and give an example of the play if it wasn't a common mistake made? I don't see what you guys are missing in the MLB comment.

When a pitcher steps towards third and then wheels on that front foot and throws to first without stepping towards first AHEAD OF THE THROW it is a balk even though his back foot broke with the rubber...