View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 22, 2013, 09:04am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by yooperbballref View Post
After talking it over with your partner and the two or three of you decide the foul was commited before the horn then there shouldn't be 0:00 on the clock for the free throws. If you decide there should be 0:00 on the clock then the foul shouldn't of been counted because it was after the horn.
That's logical.

It's also contrary to the rules which state that this is not a "timer's error", but is an "allowed reaction time" (or whatever the specific words are) and cannot be corrected unless (a) you have a monitor or (b) one of the officials has definitive knowledge of the time involved.

Here's a paragraph from the NCAA case book (but it applies to FED as well);
Quote:
However, when the official signals for the clock to stop and it is so near the expiration of time that the timer is unable to stop the clock, this is not a timer’s mistake and time should not be placed back on the game clock. When the official determines that the foul occurred before the sounding of the game-clock horn, the basket shall not count and A1 is awarded two free throws. When A1 makes the first shot, the game is over. When both free throws are unsuccessful, the game continues with an extra period(s). On a foul that occurs near the expiration of time, officials must determine that the clock did not stop when the whistle sounded either because a timing mistake occurred or because it was so near the expiration of time that the timer is unable to stop the clock. In the first case, time is put back on the game clock and the game has not ended and in the second case, time is not placed back on the clock and the game has ended.
Reply With Quote