Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
It is difficult to say how you would correct an error if you cannot imagine making that error. I cannot imagine a varsity official who doesn't know this rule.
BUT,
you gotta do something.
What MTD says sounds very reasonable when he says it. But, my first thought was if the free throws are announced as "one" followed by "two" the first is certainly the one which was not merited. Bottom line is that I'm the ref and what I say goes so either is correct.
The night I saw this happen, I was a bit surprised that the coach on the short end didn't know better. Considerable time has passed, and now I find it less surprising what a coach doesn't know.
|
And when he gets such a call in his favor, he'll insist on three free throws, yelling about "the officials last week."