View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 10, 2003, 08:21pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I was referring to the statement used in this casebook play-"A6 simply cannot participate until the illegal items are removed".It cites rule 3-5-6 as the reason why-"Jewelry shall NOT be worn".That's a pretty explicit,all-encompassing statement,too.Pre-game warmups are covered similarly in casebook play 3.5SitB.We do disagree then,because I think that there are no situations during your jurisdiction where you would allow any player,whether they are playing or warming up,to wear jewelry.I think that was the intent of the rule.
A6 is not a player, she's a sub. Therefore, she cannot enter the game until properly equipped. That's why the statement is made in the case book. It's not a statement designed to cover every situation. The case play doesn't address a player who is already in the game. She's already participated while being improperly equipped.

Quote:
You see Dick Knox sometimes during the summer,don't you Tony? Why don't you run this one by him,and get his opinion?
No, I don't, at least not until the state football clinic in August. But I can tell you that he doesn't even want us using 3.4.15. It's more a preference with him, than it is "The rulebook says..."
Reply With Quote