View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 10, 2003, 08:53am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Re: Re: Re: same sitch

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
In the case last year, the player was directed to leave because she refused to remove her earrings, which I had just noticed as she was stepping up to the line to shoot free throws. I insisted that a sub should shoot, but couldn't remember whether this was right or not. Finally, if I remember correctly, I backed down and let her shoot, and then she sat.
What you did would have been acceptable in that situation. Remove everyone from the lane, allow her to shoot, then give the ball to B, whether she makes them or not.
And I still completely disagree with you on this one,Tony.You've got two completely different situations here with two completely different rulings.The ruling that you are using-casebook play 3.4.15-refers specifically to uniform violations only. It does not mention any other items,such as safety concerns,and doesn't contain any language that would let you include jewelry in this ruling. Casebook play 3.5.5SitA(c) is very explicit with regards to jewelry,and covers Juulie's sitch perfectly.It says that a player CANNOT participate until the illegal items are removed.If you let the player shoot the FT's with the earrings in,you're letting her participate and you're ignoring the specific language of this particular case play.
Reply With Quote