View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2013, 01:03am
jeremy341a jeremy341a is offline
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
perhaps just more poor wording

Pg 1. Of the NFHS preseason guide talks about team-control rule change refined and underneath is list a few plays. Play #2 says A1 has the ball for a throw-in at the division line. A2, who is standing in the frontcourt, tips the ball to the backcourt. A3 retrieves the ball in the backcourt before anyone else touches it.
Ruling #2 Legal play. There is no backcourt violation since player control had not yet been established in Team A's frontcourt.

I think we all agree this is legal but it seems strange to mee that they use the phrase no player control in Team A's frontcourt. They did not say not player control inbounds. This seems to be more in alignment with the rulebook which says must have player control in the frontcourt. Probably just poor wording again but i found it interesting.
Reply With Quote