Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Play: Offensive lineman legally is in the end zone, about 5 yards deep, by means of blocking an opponent. The defensive player leaves, rendering the offensive lineman "open". The passer, now being chased, throws the ball to an eligible player who is 1 yard deep into the end zone. The ball tips off of the eligible receiver and proceeds to the ineligible receiver, who catches the ball.
Ruling?
|
Forward pass complete at point of origin of offside pass, touchdown. The offside pass is not penalized, even though it is not one of the explicit exceptions to the occurrence of an offside pass.