Thread: Tip to yourself
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2012, 11:50am
Twinfan Twinfan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PP View Post
Player A is dribbling the ball in the front court. Player B pokes it away. The ball is roll owing towards player A's basket. Player B attempts to grab the ball but cannot so he rolls it two times while running then picks it up and does a layup. Is this play legal? Can you tip the ball to yourself consecutively?
You did not specify your rule set. In Ont you may be using FIBA rules. 13.1 reads as follows:
During the game, the ball is played with the hand(s) only and may be passed, thrown, tapped, rolled or dribbled in any direction, subject to the restrictions of these rules.

So legal play as described unless Player B travels after picking up the ball or some other violation occurs. You are using the term "tip" but you are describing a player rolling the ball.
Reply With Quote