Quote:
Originally Posted by DLH17
I think it's important to remember that there are situations when players may legally leave the floor without violating. One example would be a player sprinting towards the end line to retrieve a ball headed out of bounds - throwing it back in bounds, then letting his momentum carry him OOB. He's fine if he immediately reenters. No violation.
Perhaps the player in the OP situation is OOB for a non violating reason.
If so, and there's contact, it's "on him" and not the offensive player regardless of his right to a spot on the court.
|
Sigh...if he is oob and attempts to draw a charge, then it's "on him". If he is just standing there looking at the ball he just attempted to save and the offensive player mows him down you can not seriously say you are going to put that "on him".
Too many people are taking one small statement in the rule book and trying to apply it to everything...it doesn't work that way.