Quote:
Originally posted by fguyton
12U game recently, FED rules. R1 on 2nd base. R1 had a big lead and kept faking a break to 3rd. RHF1 in set position at one point throws to third because he thinks R1 is going, but R1 didn't actually go. BU calls a balk saying you "can't throw to an unoccupied base".
I don't see that. It seems to me F1 was attempting to "put out or drive back a runner" 6-2.4b
|
Legal under FED, a balk under OBR.
In FED, you can throw to the unoccupied base if the runner is stealing or feints an advance. 6.2.4A
In OBR, you can only throw if the runner is advancing (NAPL something)