View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2012, 08:27pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
10.6.1 SITUATION C:

B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1.

RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is *awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 4-19-6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)
Note the entire phrase..."into the path". Movement itself is not necessarily illegal, it is where the movement takes the player.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote