| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Can a right-handed pitcher make a move to first base by stepping directly to first base (without making any move to home)?  Pitcher brings left foot up & directly moves heel of left foot towards first base (with no separation of hands & no rotation of his shoulders until left foot lands ) & then turns & throws to first? Would this be consider a "Jab Step"?  Is this a balk & if so, why?  This move seems to be similar to the left-handed pitchers move to first base.  The leading foot towards first base has made no attempt to move towards home in both cases.  If this is not a balk, then why do we not see it done on a regular basis in the major leagues.  
 
Can you please give reference to the rule that proves this? 
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |