View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 24, 2012, 06:42pm
maven maven is offline
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by voiceoflg View Post
4. The referee first signaled TB, but then after a gathering of officials it was (I'm guessing) ruled down at the two. 1st and ten there.
Technically not "down at the two." In order for the momentum exception to apply, (among other things) the ball must become dead in the EZ. It did in this case due to the IW; often, the player will take a knee or be tackled.

I guess if I were announcing what happened, I might state that "by rule, the ball will be placed at the spot of recovery."

And, as HLin and CT1 pointed out, since the ball became dead due to the IW, the receiving team should have had the option to replay the down.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote