Quote:
Originally Posted by JeroenB
I don't have a violation here because the ball hit the ring on every shot attempt (as far as I can judge from the video). Hence it is not a double dribble violation (at least under FIBA rules, which I guess apply to this video).
|
Under FIBA rules would this be deemed not a shot attempt?
15.1.1 A shot for a field goal or a free throw is when the ball is held in a player’s hand(s) and is then thrown into the air towards the opponents' basket.
24.1.2 A dribble starts when a player, having gained control of a live ball on the playing court, throws, taps, rolls, dribbles it on the floor or deliberately throws it against the backboard and touches it again before it touches another player.
A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.
24.1.4 The following are not dribbles:
• Successive shots for a field goal.
From reading that, I would come to the conclusion that it would be an illegal dribble. What am I missing?