 
			
				Wed Nov 14, 2012, 09:52am
			
			
			
		  
	 | 
	
		
		
		
			
			| 
				
				 Official Forum Member 
				
				
			 | 
			  | 
			
				
					Join Date: Sep 2003 
					Location: Katy, Texas 
					
					
						Posts: 8,033
					 
					
					
					
					
					     
				 
			 | 
		 
		 
		
	 | 
	
	
		
	
		
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  bkdow
					 
				 
				5.1.3 SITUATION C: 
 
Fourth and 10 on K's 45-yard line. K1 punts the ball beyond the neutral zone. R1 muffs the ball back behind the neutral zone where K1 recovers and: 
 
(a) falls on the ball at K's 40-yard line; or 
(b) throws a forward pass to K3 which is complete at the 50-yard line and R1 interferes with K3; or 
(c) K1 punts the ball and R1 fair catches at his 30-yard line. 
 
RULING: Since R1 touched the kick beyond the neutral zone, it will be first down for the team in possession in (a), (b) and (c). In (a), it is a first down for K at K's 40-yard line. In (b), the pass is legal as there had been no change of team possession. If K accepts the penalty for interference, it will be K's ball at R's 40-yard line. In (c), the second punt is legal as there had been no change of team possession. The ball belongs to R first and 10 on its own 30-yard line. (5-1-2f; 6-2-1; 7-5-1) 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 Exactly.  (b) and (c) in this case play show you that, obviously, the ball is not dead - as you said in your previous post.
		  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
				I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” 
 
West Houston Mike
			 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |