Thread: Poi?
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 13, 2012, 07:48am
Eastshire Eastshire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
True, but I think that I can justify it BY RULE for part a of the NFHS Case Book play, which this year is 2.10.1 Sit H.

4-36-2a doesn't apply as during the dead ball following the erroneous FT neither team was in control. So go to 4-36-2b. If we cancel the FT, one can certainly contend that Team A is entitled to a throw-in from the foul. Therefore, this rule would apply and the throw-in spot would be from the location that it should have occurred.

The problem is that part b doesn't match up with the text of the rule. After two successful FTs, Team B would now be entitled to a throw-in along the endline. That is the POI. It is Team B's ball.
I'm not sure that b doesn't match up. We have a three step test for restarting from a POI. First give it to the team that had control. Provided that B hasn't grabbed the ball yet, no team is in control.

Second, give it to the team entitled to a free throw or throw-in. A is entitled to a throw-in due to a common foul. B was entitled to a throw-in due to a made basket but that basket has been cancelled. Why then would B still be entitled to the throw-in?

We don't reach the third step.
Reply With Quote