Thread: Poi?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 13, 2012, 05:06am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Is anyone else bothered by the fact that the parts in red are not actually the point where we interrupted the game to correct the error?
True, but I think that I can justify it BY RULE for part a of the NFHS Case Book play, which this year is 2.10.1 Sit H.

4-36-2a doesn't apply as during the dead ball following the erroneous FT neither team was in control. So go to 4-36-2b. If we cancel the FT, one can certainly contend that Team A is entitled to a throw-in from the foul. Therefore, this rule would apply and the throw-in spot would be from the location that it should have occurred.

The problem is that part b doesn't match up with the text of the rule. After two successful FTs, Team B would now be entitled to a throw-in along the endline. That is the POI. It is Team B's ball.
Reply With Quote