
Mon Nov 12, 2012, 09:38pm
|
Lighten up, Francis.
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,688
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto
A.R. 22: Before the bonus rule is in effect, B1 fouls A1. The official errs by awarding A1 a one-and-one attempt.
(1) A1 makes the first free-throw try, and the error is then discovered; or
(2) A1 is successful in both free throws and then the official detects the error; or
(3) A1 misses the front end of the one-and-one and the game clock starts, at which time the official detects the error; or
(4) A1 is successful in the first bonus attempt but misses the second free throw and, as a result, the game clock starts and B1 scores a field goal. In each of the four situations, the error shall be called to the attention of the official before or during the first dead ball after the game clock has been properly started.
RULING: Each of the four situations is a correctable error.
(1), (2) and (3) Team A shall be awarded the ball at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. The free throw(s) and activity during it, other than any technical foul or a flagrant 1 or 2 personal foul, shall be canceled. Any points scored, time consumed and additional activity that may occur before the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified.
(4) Team A shall be awarded the ball out of bounds at Team B’s end line, which was the point of interruption, to correct the error. The free throw(s) and activity during it, other than any technical foul or a flagrant 1 or 2 personal foul, shall be canceled. Any points scored, time consumed and additional activity that may occur before the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified.
(Rule 2-12-1.b, 2-12.5 and 2-12.2)
---
Your second situation is not covered by this. In this case, you'd give the ball back to B at the designated spot nearest to where B2 was when the whistle was blown.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra
2008-2009 Case Book 2.10.1 SITUATION G: A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is
awarded a one-and-one. The error is discovered: (a) after A1 makes the first
throw; (b) after A1 makes both; (c) after B1 has rebounded the miss on the sec-
ond free throw; (d) after B1 has the ball for a throw-in after both attempts are successful; or (e) after B2 has control of the throw-in from B1 after A1's two successful throws. RULING: In (a) and (b), the successful free throw(s) is canceled, and A1 is given the ball for a throw-in at the spot out of bounds nearest to where B1 fouled originally. In (c), (d) and (e), the successful free throw(s) are canceled and play continues with a throw-in by B as B had the ball when the game was interrupted for correction.
I don't want to be anywhere near coach A when I hand B1 the ball
|
Is anyone else bothered by the fact that the parts in red are not actually the point where we interrupted the game to correct the error?
|