Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy
If both jumpers make legal attempts to tap the jump ball but miss contacting the ball on its way down and the ball drops to the floor untouched, I can understand how that would merit a "Do Over." Right?
However, what if both players whiff on their attempts to tap the ball and the ball strikes either one of them before it hits the floor? My understanding is that this does not merit a whistle and a rejump. Certainly not an elegant way to start the game or the overtime, but it's neither a violation or a cause for a "Do Over". Is that correct?
Reason I'm asking is that, while watching tape today, I'm noticing rejumps being ordered when the second scenerio occurs.
Any input?
|
By rule, the jump doesn't have to be pretty, just touched. But it is often retossed anyway.