Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts
After the bat breaks/shatters, does the batter have any control of where the pieces go other than what is left in his hands? Think about it.
|
I'm not debating that the wrong call was made. I'm only bringing out the fact that the rule, as written, doesn't quite cover the situation.
Yeah, I'm splitting hairs. Here ya go:
"Rule 6.05(h) Comment: If a bat breaks and part of it is in fair territory and is hit by a batted ball or part of it hits
the ball, a runner or fielder, play shall continue and no interference called. If batted ball hits part of a broken bat in foul territory, it is a foul ball."