Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Nevadaref   When that interp was issued team control did not exist during a throw-in and the "exceptions" to the backcourt violations were worded differently in previous years.  It didn't say defensive player, but a player of the team not in control. | 
	
 Correct, and the rulebook does not recognize offense or defense during a throw-in.  We had a huge debate on this a long time ago.  While common sense tells us that the the team making the throw-in is on offense, the rulebook consistently refers to that team as the "throw-in" team, and the other team is the opponent of the throw-in team.  (This was the case back when we had this debate.  With the crappy changes/editing in recent years, who knows if it's still true.)
So the exception for "the team on defense" would not apply, because until control is established after the throw-in, there is no team on defense.  And since the throw-in has ended, the throw-in exception doesn't apply, either.
Therefore, violation.