Thread: Use the Force?
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2012, 10:40pm
Rita C Rita C is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRabbit View Post
Have not done NCAA in years and do not have an old book...

But I am not buying it that you can score a rule on the 3rd out when it is a force.
I don't know softball rules as well as I know baseball rules but the question would be whether or not it is a force. The runner has gone past the bag without touching.

Is the tag of the runner an appeal (which can't be accidental at first why should it be at second?) or a play on a runner who is assumed to have touched second? If it is a play on the runner, then it is a timing play and the run scores.

If it is an appeal of a missed base, then the run will not score.

Rita
Reply With Quote