Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A
Okay, then somebody please explain how a RHP executes a "jump turn". I always believed both feet had to come up simultaneously--in other words, the pitcher "jumps", which is why the move has that word in it.
Heck, to me, this looks more like a jab-step, but he "jabs" his foot behind the rubber instead of in front of it. And since the jab is behind the rubber, it constitutes a disengagement.
And, No, I don't have Jim Evans's balk video.
|
Pitchers use a lot of different moves. Again: these moves are defined by what they are not. If F1 does not legally disengage, then
whatever the move is must conform to the rules governing throwing/feinting to a base.
The reason the move in the video is not legal disengagement is that disengagement requires that the step be complete PRIOR to separating the hands or making any other move/step toward a base.
So Cain had to conform to the throw/feint rules, which he did (no balk). And that's why the award for the overthrow was correct.
Q.E.D.