My 2 cents.
I think the original rule was written in the day when players did not have the range they do today; and that it wasn't meant to address that particular sitch. It is the Infield Fly Rule, not the Infield
er Fly Rule.
Suppose F6 did let the ball fall to the ground intentionally (as one might in the infield). Does anyone think there would have been a double or triple play? It would have probably just been a close play at 3B for one out, and as a stretch, possibly not even getting the out.