View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2012, 02:25pm
sj sj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Roughing the holder

Is all this thinking correct?

A holder is, "a player who controls the ball on the ground or a kicking tee."

This player is protected period. There's nothing in the definition about a kick needing to be made. Kick or no kick he's protected as long as he's meeting the definition of a holder by controlling the ball on the ground or a tee.

If he's holding the ball on a tee, or the ground, then IT IS reasonably certain that a kick will be made and he's protected. No judgement needed

If the snap is bad or is fumbled and he's trying to regain control so he can put it on the tee then it isn't reasonably certain that a kick will be made and the defense can legally block or contact him in a legal manner if they're trying to recover the ball.

And then there's this from the NFHS case book. 9-4-5 Situation E - The place kick holder is contacted forcibly by a player on the defense clearly after the kick is away. RULING: Roughing the holder. Personal foul. 15 yards and an automatic first down.

So the High School rules makers extends protection to this player even after the kick is away.

If the kick is blocked then the holder is not afforded protection as a holder anymore if the contact by the defender is unavoidable. But he continues to be protected from all other illegal contact just like any other player. 9-4-4-b.

Thanks
Reply With Quote