Quote:
Originally Posted by maven
First, you don't quite have your own case right: if K muffs their own kick near the GL, then K put the ball into the EZ either way, by the kick of the muff. If the ball becomes dead in the EZ, then it's a safety.
But that's irrelevant to the OP: the ball wasn't muffed, it was blocked, and the kick put the ball into the EZ. And even if B had put the ball in the EZ, the ball did not become dead there, and the enforcement spot for the foul is still in the EZ.
For NFHS, you'd have the same foul, same penalty (except no LOD), and same options as NCAA (safety or possession to B where A recovered).
|
ya, i screwed that up big time. should have just copied and pasted the case play.
edit: I knew this scenario wasn't the same, but, couldn't find anything else closer to the play described:
Rule: *8.5.2
*8.5.2 SITUATION C:
K1’s punt is blocked on K’s 5-yard line and the ball is slowly rolling near the goal line. R1 attempts to recover and just barely touches the ball. The ball then rolls into the end zone where K2 falls on it.
RULING: The covering official will have to judge whether or not a new force resulted from R1’s touch. The covering official must decide whether the original force was such that the ball could have gone into the end zone regardless of the muff. If the covering official has doubt, he will rule that the force was supplied by the kick, thus resulting in a safety. If the covering official rules R1 supplied the force, it is a touchback. (8-5-2b)