| 
			
			 
			
				Thu Sep 27, 2012, 09:41am
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2002 Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE) 
						Posts: 6,425
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Manny A  18U rec game, and I'm solo.  Bases loaded, no outs.  Batter hits a grounder to F3 playing in, and I clearly hear the bat hit the catcher's glove as well.  I signal the delayed-dead ball.  Rather than going home with it (it IS rec ball), F3 moves over and applies a tag on the BR.
 As soon as the tag is made, I kill play and award the BR first base.  That brings out the defensive coach, who wants to know why.  I explain the situation to him, letting him know that technically, I should have called time and then give the offensive coach the option of accepting the penalty or the play.  But I went ahead and applied the penalty since it was a no-brainer on what the offensive coach would choose.
 
 The offensive coach heard the discussion, and wanted further clarification on the options (so much for being a no-brainer...)  So I explained the options--the play (batter is out on the tag, but the runners advance) or the penalty (batter is awarded first, all forced runners advance)--and he went with my call.
 
 Between innings, I thought more about the play.  After F3 tagged the BR, she was about to throw home to make a play on R1 coming from third.  Should I have allowed play to continue til the end, since there was the possibility of an errant throw?  Or did I kill it appropriately since the BR was put out, and she was the offended player?  And should I have not made the call and gone ahead to explain the options to the offensive coach?
 |  I think the DDB idea is to let the entire play finish.
		 
				__________________Officiating takes more than OJT.
 It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
 |