Thread: Illegal motion?
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2012, 10:21am
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by boone17 View Post
Tailback takes two steps towards the LOS then turns and motions outside the end. I know the rules says any back may go in motion as long as it is not towards the opponents goal. I have never seen this flagged and we have never called this illegal motion but the defensive coach went ballistic telling us in his last game it was called against his team. I'm curious if other crews call this illegal motion?
It's not a matter of when you can go in motion forward, but of being in motion forward at the snap. In the example above, when did the snap occur?
Reply With Quote