View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2012, 11:23am
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 648
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
HS V game.

Team S setter is in the back row, she is up near the net waiting for a pass from her teammate. The pass is long and goes over the net. Team R player jumps and hits the ball down into the Team S setter. Setter is facing the net with her hands about at the height of her head, she does not jump and her hands were not above the top of the net. The ball rebounds up off of her hands, then she is the first to contact the ball.

I believe this should have been called a double contact, am I right?
Yes, as it was successive contacts. If you were going to call the first contact a block, then you would have had an illegal block. In either case, a fault should have been whistled.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote