Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster
I respectfully disagree with you. The pass in this instance IS the force responsible for putting the ball into the end zone. Otherwise, if as you suggest, B supplied the force which put the ball into the end zone, downing it there would be a safety by rule.
|
That is exactly right. You have it now. If there was no momentum exception in the rulebook, then this play would result in a safety (in fact, before this rule, DB's making this play knew they had to get it back out of the EZ!).
You've illustrated the entire reason for the existence of the momentum exception. Now add in that due to the fumble in the OP, the momentum exception does not apply, and you're back to this basic play above (pre-exception if you will)... which is, as you're being told, and as you agree with now, a safety.