View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2012, 01:36pm
ump33 ump33 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster View Post
I respectfully disagree with you. The pass in this instance IS the force responsible for putting the ball into the end zone. Otherwise, if as you suggest, B supplied the force which put the ball into the end zone, downing it there would be a safety by rule.
Hince the entire reason for the Momentun Exception.
8-5-2 . . . It is a safety when:
a. A runner carries the ball from the field of play to or across his own goal line, and it becomes dead there in his team’s possession.
EXCEPTION: When a defensive player intercepts an opponent’s forward pass; intercepts or recovers an opponent’s fumble or backward pass; or an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or free kick between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team’s possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to the team in possession at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered.
Reply With Quote