Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster
Yet Redding guide says the basic spot in that instance is the end of the run which brings it out to the 20, not the spot of the fumble in the end zone, resulting in a safety.
|
Your inference is incorrect: the run ended in the EZ, when the runner fumbled. Since, as you point out, the result of the play was not a TB, the basic spot remains the end of the run, not the B20. A TB would be one way to get the basic spot out of the EZ.
Another would be momentum. But the ball did not become dead in the EZ, so momentum (and its special provision for the basic spot) does not apply.
Ump33 is correct: the penalty should be enforced from the end of the run, which was in the EZ. By rule, that penalty results in a safety, score 2 points for A, B will free kick from the B20.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster
The momentum exception implies that the forward pass was the force that put the ball into the end zone.
|
The momentum exception does not change the force that puts the ball in the EZ. It changes the consequences of that force: instead of ruling a safety, we're bringing the ball back out to the spot of recovery/catch when the momentum exception applies.