Quote:
Originally Posted by ump33
Once B20 fumbled and the ball came out of the end zone, the momentum exception is no longer in affect and B20 is responsible for "forcing" the ball across his own goal line (into his own end zone). The foul on B55 is enforced from the end of the run and the end of the run is in the end zone = Safety.
|
Yes, BUT...Once you fumble the ball out of the end zone following an interception in the end zone, it's no longer a touchback either. Yet Redding guide says the basic spot in that instance is the end of the run which brings it out to the 20, not the spot of the fumble in the end zone, resulting in a safety. This is why I ask. Has anyone actually read a case ruling on this exact scenario. I'm still not convinced it's a safety.