View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 02:29pm
jchamp jchamp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
this is from a fan site but a situation that is often not handled correctly.



We all know there is no chuck rule in NFHS and I say any contact on a receiver like this falls under IUH on an eligible receiver. at the very least, many of these BLOCKS should be called BIB and this one possibly UR, don't you think?
If B clocks A face-to-face and A gets concussed, then A needs to learn to watch where he's going--it's a valuable lesson that will serve him well for the rest of his life.
If B clocks A in the back outside of the FBZ, then SOME kind of illegal contact has occurred, unless A ran directly into a (mostly) stationary B player. (In this case, A has blocked B using his back... albeit probably accidentally.) With B clocking A in the back, I've likely got some sort of personal foul. You just can't do that.

There's obviously no DPI in the case described. But if A runs into B and the pass is thrown nearby, there's a case for OPI.
Reply With Quote