View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2012, 10:36am
umpjim umpjim is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
Excuse me but you did it again. At one point you say it is never a balk, and then you say rule 8.02(a) allows it.

Please show me what part EVER says that a balk is allowed. I don't see it.

All I see is a ball being called and an ejection if the pitcher persists.

Rita
8.02(a)(1), going to your mouth improperly, is never a balk in OBR.
8.02(a)(2), expectorating on the ball, hand or glove, is a balk with runners on. Edited to add: The balk penalty is in the Penalty paragraph (d) further on in the chapter. Edited to add further: I see the problem. The LGB does not read the same way. My penalty is from the MLB OBR.

Regarding FED the quoted case play makes it a balk because it is the start of coming set and is stopped. I'm not happy that that is the way they want it called. They have another case play that allows hat adjustment and other arm motions without it being a balk. That case play actually called those things a balk several years ago. Then one year it was quietly reversed to no balk. I hope they do the same thing with the hand to mouth case play.

Last edited by umpjim; Sat Aug 18, 2012 at 12:09pm.
Reply With Quote