Quote:
Originally posted by deinert
According to the comment in the case book to rule 5.10.1 there is a reaction/lag time to take into consideration with this situation. My interpation is that if there is less than 1 second difference with the clock and play you leave it alone.
Now this comment might only refer to calls made by an official and the lag time after making the call and then getting the clock stopped.
Just a note to consider.
|
"Lag time" is only used in situations where the clock is being stopped.It is not applicable or germane in a case like this,where the clock is started improperly. I assume that you were referring to casebook play 5.10.1SitB-Comment.As I said,that play only refers to the clock stopping.The principle that you want is contained in the play above it-casebook play 5.10.1SitA- "the referee may correct the mistake only when he/she has definite information relative to the time involved".In this particular sitch,the referee knew that 0.5 seconds came off improperly,so he/she can(and should) put that 0.5 seconds back on the clock.
Btw,welcome to the Forum.