Thread: Is this legal?
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 23, 2003, 12:05pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Angry

Quote:
Originally posted by jking_94577
For NCAA, can the dribble be continued after returning inbounds? As bacterium has pointed out, it looks like the NBA only lets you retrieve the ball but it does not let you continue dribbling unless one of those 3 things happen. Or is bacterium wrong because the first dribble never ended?
NCAA -- yes, if it was an interrupted dribble and the player doesn't "catch" the ball (thus, ending the dribble). The normal dribbling rules apply -- the OOB situation has nothing to do with this.

Quote:
And another play that we used to do in the school yards before was this sitch. A1 loses the dribble. A1 is guarded by B1 so she throws it at B1. A1 then picks up the ball and regains dribble. Is this legal? According to NCAA and NBA rule book, the ball can be dribbled a second time after an opponent touches it.
So, the rule book says it can be done, and you're asking if it's legal? Of course it's legal.
Reply With Quote