Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
We got it partly right.
I did not realize that if we had allowed the pitcher to return to run the bases, that would have constituted a reentry for her. Can someone point to that rule reference?
|
Just think about the process. The pitcher was replaced; if it was a courtesy runner, no big deal, the pitcher hasn't left the game. But, it wasn't; no matter how you wrap it, you had a substitute (upon discovery), and an illegal one at that.
So, the pitcher had a sub; how does she get back in the game, then, if not a re-entry? Until/unless you find a rule that says it isn't a re-entry, that is the only way she can get in the game.
Just like the DP for the FLEX isn't a substitution, but the only way back in the game is a re-entry.