Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
I did not realize that if we had allowed the pitcher to return to run the bases, that would have constituted a reentry for her. Can someone point to that rule reference?
|
I cannot find anything that would support this.
Quote:
In the same tournament, we had a game end when the team's shorthanded batting slot came up, and a coach who argued that the DP replacing the FLEX did not count as a substitution.
|
The coach may be correct. The FLEX must use a re-entry (if available) to return to the game, but it is not a substitution. For that matter, just because the DP plays defense doesn't necessarily mean s/he replaced the FLEX, but if the FLEX doesn't go out on defense, s/he has left the game.