View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 24, 2012, 10:47am
brainbrian brainbrian is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
You need to read Rule 2-10-1. In order to know what Rule 5-1 you must know what is considered the basket. The basket obviously by definition involves the net.

"Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches in inside the diameter, its flange and braces, and a white cord 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in length, suspended from beneath the ring."

It would be BI because a player from either team touched a ball including within the net while the ball is on or within the basket.
Okay, I guess 2-10-1 is what I was looking for. Thanks for clarifying this for me. And since we agree now that the ball did not go all the way "through," then yes, the basket interference call makes obvious sense if it did hit him in the head.

On a related note then, how about if a shot hits an opponents head while in the basket?
Reply With Quote