Thread: Balk or Not
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 23, 2012, 10:45pm
umpjim umpjim is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
By rule, F2 is required to be in his "box" until the time of the pitch -- which is the first movement that commits the pitcher to pitch. At that time, F2 can move.
That is correct for FED not OBR. The commonly ignored rule states "until the ball leaves the pitcher's hand" for intentional walks only. TOP is actually used in practice in OBR when it rarely if ever is called.
Reply With Quote