View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2012, 10:11am
Rob1968 Rob1968 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Clarification of ball location

Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
A-1 makes a bad cross-court pass that's easily stolen by B-2, who steals it with one hand and immediately starts a dribble.

Here's the crux: When B-2 starts this her dribble, she has a foot in the air, one in the FC (about 10 inches from the division line), and her dribble hits the division line. When did status begin, when she immediately touched the ball (resulting in a violation), or when the dribble is established (no violation)?
When A-1 made the errant cross-court pass, which was intercepted by a bat by B-2, was A-1 in her frontcourt - (B's backcourt) or was she in A's backcourt - (B's frontcourt) ?

It seems that the originating location of the ball could be significant, regarding a ruling of whether the interception by B-2 constituted a backcourt violation.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote