View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 08:04pm
mcbailey mcbailey is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfdesigner View Post
With the new rule regarding a helmet lost during play requiring a player to sit a down if the helmet coming off was not the result of a foul. That is easy to figure out. What I haven't seen is what if B1 loses his helmet, then continues to participate in the play, like making or assisting on the tackle or by defending a pass. Would that be illegal participation? or do you have nothing other than to send him to the sideline for a play?

Rule references would be helpful.

Thanks
If we are talking FED rules, then there is no foul.

In NCAA rules, it is a personal foul.

Rule 3-3-9-c: "...If the player is not the ball carrier the ball remains alive, but he must not continue to participate in the play beyond the immediate action in which he is engaged. Prolonged participation is a personal foul (Rule 9-1-17). By definition such a player is obviously out of the play (Rule 9-1-12-b)."
Reply With Quote